About     Contact     Help     

White Inks Product Review

White Inks Review

UPDATE 7/15/15: I added a follow-up using two additional black cardstock brands. See below for details.

Hi All!

I’m so happy to finally be posting this review! When I first mentioned I was planning this review, I had several people ask if Stampin’ Up! was going to be one of the inks. Well, I hadn’t used my SU white ink in a long time and it was dried out, so I kind of forgot about it. With many people asking, I decided to order a refill and include it. Wow, I’m so glad I did.

See the video below, and scroll down for photos of the results. Enjoy!

signature

Inks Reviewed, in alphabetical order:

Colorbox White Ink
Colorbox White Ink
Hero Arts Unicorn White
Hero Arts Unicorn White
EH|SSS
Memento Luxe Wedding Dress Ink
Memento Luxe Wedding Dress Ink
EH|SSS
Simon Says Stamp White Ink
SSS White Ink
Stampin' Up! White Ink
Stampin’ Up! White Ink

Photos of results. Click for a high-resolution view:

Stamping

Direct-to-Paper

UPDATE: Many people questioned if my use of Stampin’ Up! black cardstock impacted the results in favor of Stampin’ Up! ink. I had two other black cardstock brands in my stash: Hero Arts and Simon Says Stamp. I did the direct-to-paper comparison and the photo results are below. I moved my photography location, which is why the photos have better light. Click the photos for a high-resolution view.

Since Hero Hues White Unicorn and Stampin’ Up! were the top two, I did both of these on Hero Arts paper:

White Ink Review

Sorry about those blotches in the swipe – it’s my hand trying to label it before it dried! Hero Arts and Stampin’ Up! cardstocks are very different. Hero Arts is very smooth and coated. It has a white core and the color is not quite so black. I think the results of both were better with this cardstock because of it’s lack of texture. The inks slid very easily across the cardstock. However, Stampin’ Up! still has the edge.

Next I used Simon Says Stamp cardstock. This cardstock is a little thicker and a little darker than Stampin’ Up!. Texture-wise, it’s very similar. I added the Simon Says Stamp ink to the comparison to see if their ink fared better on their cardstock:

White Ink Review

The results are almost identical to those using the Stampin’ Up! cardstock.

So even with the different cardstocks, I think Stampin’ Up! still performed the best. 🙂

Comments

  1. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 8:31 am

    Connie

    Thanks for that comparison, Darlene. As I only use Stampin Up white ink and love it, I was thrilled to discover it came out as the best!

  2. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 9:06 am

    catcards004

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have been looking for a white stamp and did not want to commit until I say your video. I will be putting in my order for the StampinUp Whisper White ink! Love your Website

  3. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 10:07 am

    Mary Jane

    Wow, thanks Darlene! I never knew there was such a difference. I have only used Colorbox and am definitely going to get some Stampin Up white! Thanks for sharing!

  4. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 10:53 am

    Caly Person

    Wow! Thanks, Darlene! You saved this girl from having to buy any other!!! Thanks for all your work on this!

  5. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 11:22 am

    SandraMaria

    Wow…I was really surprised at the results of this comparison! I think the SSS pad was not inked evenly and maybe that is why the heavy ink on top of the stamp tests. For the direct to paper, I was really surprised how dry that Momento Luxe was!! Maybe you should send that one back?!?? It would be really interesting how that one would measure up to the HH pad if it had been inked properly. Maybe you could just compare those two later if you ever get a reinker or a new pad….but honestly, I’m satisfied with the results of this test. I am really, really glad that you included the SU!, so thank you very much for that!!

    Is there any chance we could get more comparison videos? I think they are very informative and I like the way you present them in your videos.

    Thank you so much for this video, I have been looking forward to watching ever since you mentioned doing it. You rock!! =)

    • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 9:12 am

      Darlene DeVries

      That could be true about the SSS ink. I will make a note about more comparison videos. 🙂

  6. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 12:07 pm

    Miss Robin

    Hi Darlene! I always love your comparison videos. Very interesting results. It’s too bad that the Memento Luxe pad was so dry. In the pics/video it looks like the Memento Luxe was a warmer white?

    Correct me if I’m not remembering correctly, but I think you’ve said in past videos that Stamping’ Up Ink works best with Stamping’ Up paper. I guess I’m wondering if the results would have been the same on, say, cheap black paper from Michaels or black Bazzill paper (or whatever).

    Again, very interesting results. I have to agree with your assessment of Stamping’ Up inks. I have had my inks for at least 15 years and they are still stamping and give me a lovely image every time though they are on the verge of getting dry. My little cube ones are drier, but I can still stamp 2x and get a good image.

    Thank you for the comparison!!

    • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 9:15 am

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Robin. Yes, I would say the Memento Luxe is a little warmer. You would probably would not notice it was not as white if you didn’t have it right up next to the others. As far as cardstock goes, you should get the same result no matter what the paper is, because white pigment ink sits on top of the paper, rather than getting absorbed into it. One of my SU inks is probably 8 years old and it is still really juicy!

      • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 10:37 am

        Miss Robin

        Good news! Thanks again!!

  7. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    suzierubberstamp

    Thanks, Darlene. As usual you were very thorough and the review was informative.
    Thanks for the video. I appreciate you so much! How is Courtney? I hope she is all well by now!

    • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 9:17 am

      Darlene DeVries

      Yes Suzie, she is doing great! Thanks for asking.

  8. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 1:56 pm

    fareeda

    They say that using Stampin’Up card stock, is the best for getting a more solid, brighter coverage. But, I’m wondering, what happens if you use a different card stock, ie: Simon Says Stamps, Hero Art and etc. What are your thoughts on this?

    • wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 6:55 pm

      Connie

      Don’t know about all card stocks but the ones used with my SU white ink have all worked well. I usually use SU black card stock but also use Hero Arts card stock and the occasional unbranded card stock at my local scrapbook store. All give the same results for SU ink. So it seems pretty consistent.

      • wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 8:58 pm

        Miss Robin

        Very cool!! Thanks for the testimony!!

    • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 9:18 am

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Fareeda. You should get the same results with different cardstocks. The white ink lays on top of the paper, so you don’t have the variability of how it gets absorbed.

  9. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 2:39 pm

    jebo739

    Thanks Darlene. I have the colorbox and Gina K. white and have not been overly happy with either one of them. I appreciate your doing this video before I end up with a dozen white inks that are less than I expected.

  10. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 3:08 pm

    stampinspicer

    Interesting… thank you for the comparison!

  11. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    Sharlee

    Hi Darlene, I was hoping you would also review Stayzon white solvent ink. Do you have any experience with it?

    It looks like Stampin’up craft white is the best option but I wonder if double (or triple) stamping with the MISTI might improve the results of the other inks. I also wonder if the paper would make a difference. There are so many variables.

    • wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 4:14 pm

      Irene

      I was wondering the same thing, Sharlee! Perhaps once the first impression has soaked in, the next one’s will stay on the surface better?

    • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 9:21 am

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Sharlee. I don’t have Staz-on white ink. I remember I purchased it when I first started crafting and returned it to the store because it didn’t come inked up. I tried inking it myself, but with my inexperience, it was frustrating. Interesting note about stamping multiple times – that might help people who already own these inks. Paper shouldn’t make a difference because the ink sits on top of the paper and is not absorbed.

  12. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 4:02 pm

    Carol Mac

    Thanks Darlene…I will stick with SU! Really appreciate the time you took to do this comparison!

  13. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 4:13 pm

    Irene

    Thanks for this. I have color box and I concur with your analysis about the size of the pad — it does get dirty easily because of it’s shape. I go between that and Stampin’ Up, depending on which one my hand gets to first. lol My biggest beef with most white inks is how they soak in and turn grey, so I will often end up heat embossing them, especially for sentiments. I’m wondering if the SU ink did eventually turn grey, or if it stayed that bright white? And if so, do you think it’s because it was freshly reinked? I’ve never had it stay that white/bright, but maybe I too just need to reink?

    Thanks for your thoughts!

    • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 9:24 am

      Darlene DeVries

      I took the photo after all the inks have dried and they still all look the same. I think the ones that turn gray are the ones that are being partially absorbed by the paper. Maybe the reinking had something to do with my success. But, several of the others were literally unwrapped just prior to the test. They should have been fully inked as well.

      • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 11:02 am

        Irene

        Thanks!

  14. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    Shirley H

    Thank you, Darlene, for your in-depth and objective comparison of the white pigment inks. I have both the Color Box Frost White and Hero Hues Unicorn White and prefer the Color Box. Now that I’ve seen how the Stampin Up! white craft ink compares I’ll order that one.

    Please give us an update on Courtney. 🙂

    • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 9:24 am

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Shirley. Courtney is doing great – hopefully we are past this mess! Thank you for asking. 🙂

  15. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    conil

    This was a really informative and surprising comparison. Thank you. Happy 4th. Hope Courtney is feeling better.

  16. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    Brenda West

    Thanks for that comparison. Wow, I now know where to get my white ink. I’ve not been happy with the stayson that I normally use.

  17. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    swimbikerunat60

    Well Darlene, this was a really great comparison of white inks for me, even if I only own one white ink pad and it’s Stampin Up! I’ve had it for many years and I only use it when I want to heat emboss a detailed image, it’s still very juicy and I always get a great impression with it.
    Thank you for taking the time to do this video, as always, it’s very informative and helpful.

  18. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 6:45 pm

    Sharon Farrah

    Thanks Darlene for comparing. I was glad that SU was the best as I am having a hard time loving everything about SU lately.

  19. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 6:56 pm

    LJ

    Who would know? Great test to see. I need to get some Stampin Up white. Thank you Darlene.

  20. wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    mary w

    Thanks and what a difference the juiciness makes. I had Stampin Up inks for over 20 years that I never used since I was using Distress for everything. I got some out to get a cleaner color and give to my granddaughter to play with. They were all wonderfully juicy and vibrant and now I use them all the time. OVER 10 YEARS OLD. WOW

    • wrote on July 3rd, 2015 at 8:42 pm

      mary w

      10 years not 20 – sorry.

    • wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 11:02 am

      Irene

      Mary, my experience with SU inks was similar. I bought my first ink spot in 2000 while in grad school, and promptly put them away. I didn’t go to my next SU workshop until 2008ish and remembered my original purchase. Went home, found them, and discovered they were still way inky. Amazing.

      Still, to this day, I still always buy the reinker just in case. I find now that I use them more often, they do need occasional reinking just to get back into shape. 🙂

  21. wrote on July 4th, 2015 at 3:30 am

    Ruby

    Very informative! Thanks Darlene.

  22. wrote on July 4th, 2015 at 8:07 am

    Glenismaree

    Thanks Darlene for your video. Perfect timing for me as I am about to order a new white ink. Stampinup sounds like the one to buy. Glenis

  23. wrote on July 4th, 2015 at 9:51 am

    Elyse

    I really do appreciate your product reviews, and this one is no exception. I’ll be ordering some SU white ink very soon. Thank!

  24. wrote on July 4th, 2015 at 4:35 pm

    mecare

    I really like this review of the different kinds of white inks. There atributes are very different. Knowing the difference helps to pick the right one for my projects. Thanks so much for you expertise and creativity. Although it doesn’t help my pocketbook. lol.

  25. wrote on July 4th, 2015 at 7:11 pm

    Yvonne0302

    Great comparison. Love your videos. Thank you!

  26. wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 7:17 am

    Becka

    Thanks for the comparison, Darlene. I do appreciate your product reviews.

  27. wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    Jennifer Stark

    This was SUPER DUPER helpful. I always have trouble with white ink!!! You sound like you have a bit of a cold. Hope you’re feeling better!!!

  28. wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    marymoxx

    Hey Darlene,
    I was just curious if you think you’d get the same results using different paper? I don’t have any Stamping Up paper, and just wondered if the SU ink won bc is formulated to work better on that specific paper. Sorry to sound like Debbie Downer over here…I really enjoyed the comparison! I just had that thought run though my mind. Not that I think you have to use all different papers, but maybe if you tried them all on one other paper to make it more fair. But Idk…the SU still might win 🙂 ..Just a thought. Xo

  29. wrote on July 5th, 2015 at 10:42 pm

    marymoxx

    Never mind…I think someone asked this question earlier..I just didn’t see it. Sorry!

  30. wrote on July 6th, 2015 at 6:45 pm

    Susan Berry

    Thanks for doing the comparisons. I just recently bought a SU white ink and am happy the results came out with SU on top. So glad to hear your daughter is doing much better.

  31. wrote on July 8th, 2015 at 9:27 pm

    Beau

    Hi Darlene! Great video, very surprising results for me. Especially since when I have asked professionals about the difference between Hero Hues and SSS I was told they were the same. Obviously that is not the case. I do have to wonder though, I have also been told this by MANY Stampin Up demonstrators, that the SU papers and inks are formulated to work together in such a way that using other products on either end will not receive the optimal results. So I have to wonder if you would get the same results using a non SU cardstock. Is there any truth to this? Either way I thank you for the video, I love your comparison videos you do such a great job of really being thorough.

    • wrote on July 9th, 2015 at 5:03 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      It shouldn’t make a difference, as the ink is not absorbed into the paper. However, since many people brought this up, I will do a sample to see what happens. Stay tuned.

      • wrote on July 10th, 2015 at 1:39 pm

        Beau

        Thanks that would be great. I just thought it did because you were saying that with the color box and the Simon Says Stamp that they were juicy and soaking into the paper so that is why I assumed that was the case. But now that you mention it…it does make sense that they would sit on top of the paper since they are a pigment inks. I didn’t even think of that lol. Thanks 🙂

  32. wrote on July 16th, 2015 at 11:16 am

    Miss Robin

    Thank you for the update Darlene!! Stamping’ Up has wonderful results!!

  33. wrote on July 16th, 2015 at 1:16 pm

    mjs1033

    You are doing a wonderful job with your site/cards/reviews/etc. I am so glad I signed up! Myrna Sweet

  34. wrote on July 16th, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    jennyjo88

    That was so great that you re-tested your hypothesis on additional paper sources. Since the results were the same, your hypothesis is now a proven theory! Thanks for the information.

  35. wrote on July 18th, 2015 at 4:04 am

    Anna D.

    Thanks Darlene! I have Colorbox White and I’m having technical difficulties. I have the hardest time cleaning the pigment out of stamp crevasses. I also experience the ink squishing out the sides of my stamped images. So with words it looks like I’ve debased them. How do you get around these hurdles?

    • wrote on July 18th, 2015 at 4:06 am

      Anna D.

      Hehe, ‘debossed’, not ‘debased’. Autocorrect strikes again.

    • wrote on July 22nd, 2015 at 9:58 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      I also sometimes have a hard time cleaning the white ink out of the crevasses. I try to squeeze my absorber to get some water into the small areas and then pull the water out. It helps, but usually doesn’t get every last bit. Whatever doesn’t come out, I just leave it. Regarding the squishing, generally it’s because you have too much ink on the stamp. Because the white ink doesn’t absorb into the paper, it has no where to go but out the sides. Try using a little less ink, and also not pressing your stamp down quite so hard on the cardstock. Hope this helps!

      • wrote on July 23rd, 2015 at 9:47 pm

        Anna D.

        Thank you Darlene! I just got my first ream of Neenah Solar White 80lb paper. I love all of your ideas and sharing of techniques. I never come close but have so much fun trying.

  36. wrote on July 20th, 2015 at 4:07 am

    marymoxx

    Awh! I feel bad for that comment….I didn’t mean to make you do extra work! It had just come to mind. Pretty awesome that the Stamping Up ink still kicked butt, though! I was really surprised that the Unicorn White didn’t fare very well….almost every card maker I watch had always said it was the best, darkest white ink out there. 🙂 Now I know better.
    Idk if you’ll even have a chance to read this post, but I thought I’d happily report that I FINALLY for some time and had the energy to dig some stuff out and I did it…I made my very first card ever. I’m hooked (I knew I would be). I used a making technique, so I unintentionally made my first card with this month’s technique, so when I take some good photos of it, I intend to enter your contest. Yippee! I’m too excited. It’s pretty CAS (or hopefully). I’m pretty pleased with it and since I made it, I’ve been itching to make another! What a motivator. Hope you’ll see it when I enter it. Thanks so much for everything you do and everything I’ve learned. Hopefully you’ll think I did you proud. Lol. Take care.
    P.S. Hope Courtney is back to her 100% epic self again. I’ve been praying for her and your family. Xo
    ~Mary

    • wrote on July 22nd, 2015 at 10:10 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Yay Mary!! Not surprised you’re hooked. Can’t wait to see your card photo in the challenge – I’ll keep an eye out for it! 🙂

  37. wrote on January 2nd, 2016 at 9:05 pm

    Jeanne

    This is such a useful discussion! I swear by Club Scrap’s white pigment ink, which you didn’t include in your comparison, Darlene. Perhaps you might give it a try sometime?? If anyone is interested in a comparison of white PENS, here’s a link. I’ve bought tons of white pens that were too faint on dark cardstock to be usable. This article might help you with the right purchase:
    http://www.jetpens.com/blog/guide-to-choosing-white-gel-ink-pens-and-markers/pt/340?utm_source=JetPens+Newsletter&utm_campaign=2ca3029962-20151028_enews&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_e853d77ed9-2ca3029962-295117069&mc_cid=2ca3029962&mc_eid=de237aec85

  38. wrote on January 2nd, 2016 at 10:28 pm

    Jeanne

    PS I LOVE Neenah cardstock. It’s the best. If I have a kit with white cardstock included I’ll swap that out for my Neenah. The final product is definitely worth it.

Add a comment

News/Announcements

January 9, 2019 - It's Sale-a-Bration (free products!) and the Stampin' Up! Occasions catalog is now available for ordering! View the Occasions Catalog, the Annual Catalog, and the SAB catalog. 25% of every order goes to Foster Kids Charity! Shop HERE.
See more news...

Email Signup!

Receive an email when new content is added!

My Favorite Stores

Stampin’ Up!


View Catalog
Copic Certified

Archives

Help Support the Community

Support the Community!

Make a difference.