About     Contact     Help     

Product Review: Distress Crayons for Card Making

Distress Crayons Review

Hi All!

I’ve had this review on my list for quite awhile, and I’m so glad I finally completed it. I didn’t really like the distress crayons at first, hence my lack of motivation for doing the review. My initial experience was that they aren’t great for your typical card-making techniques. However, after some experimenting and playing around, I found three unique uses for them in your card making. Now, I give them a thumbs up! Here’s why…

Distress Crayons

Aren’t they so colorful? In the video, I go through the techniques in detail. Below find the photos of each card…

First, distress crayons with dry embossing:

Distress Crayons

Distress Crayons

Second, distress crayons on water:

Distress Crayons

Third, distress crayons over embossing paste:

Distress Crayons

Distress Crayons

Supplies for each card are listed below. Enjoy!!

signature

Supplies for embossing folder card:

Ranger Distress Crayons - Set 1
Ranger Distress Crayons – Set 1
EH|SSS
Branches Embossing Folder
Branches Embossing Folder
Delightful Die
Delightful Die
Altenew You Are
Altenew You Are
EH|SSS
Neenah Solar White Cardstock
Neenah Cardstock
EH|SSS
Hero Arts Black Notecards
Hero Arts Black Notecards
Sizzix Big Shot Machine
Sizzix Big Shot
EH|SSS
Stampin' Up! Sequins
Stampin’ Up! Sequins
Stampin' Up! Rhinestone Jewels
Clear Rhinestones

Supplies for rainbow card:

Ranger Distress Crayons - Set 1
Ranger Distress Crayons – Set 1
EH|SSS
You Die
You Die
Simon Says Stamp Striped Greetings
SSS Striped Greetings
Create 365 Brights Washi Tape
Create 365 Brights Washi Tape
BLSY|SSS
Ranger Watercolor Cardstock
Ranger Watercolor Cardstock
EH|SSS
Neenah Solar White Cardstock
Neenah Cardstock
EH|SSS
Hero Hues Black
Hero Hues Black
EH|SSS

Supplies for embossing paste card:

Ranger Distress Crayons - Set 1
Ranger Distress Crayons – Set 1
EH|SSS
Scrolled Background
Scrolled Background
EH|AMZN
Embossing Paste
Embossing Paste
EH|SSS
SSS Stitched Circles
SSS Stitched Circles
Watercolor Wings
Watercolor Wings
Neenah Solar White Cardstock
Neenah Cardstock
EH|SSS
Thin Paper Tape
Thin Paper Tape

Comments

  1. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 8:04 am

    jpklehm

    These are all beautiful cards, Darlene! Thank you for the taking the time to show so many examples…I really appreciate it! I haven’t bought any Distress Crayons yet but they look fun so I may have to try them!

    Take care.

  2. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 9:21 am

    Connie

    Thanks Darlene for giving us such good examples. I have not really had the results I wanted with my Distress Crayons and now know some things I can do with them that will work beautifully. I also thank you for taking the time to work all this out for us!

  3. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 2:07 pm

    swimbikerunat60

    I must say that, in all honesty, I just don’t like this product at all, I mean, you did a fabulous job with this crayons but it looks like way to much trouble to get some nice results and it’s a bit messy too.
    I’m sticking with the distress markers and ink pads if I want to do the embossing or stenciling.
    Thank you anyway Darlene for taking the time to do this video so we can see if this product will work for us or not.
    XO
    Maria.

  4. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 2:07 pm

    Valshim

    Thank you for this video. I have some of these crayons, but haven’t figured out what to do with them, so I really appreciated the video. I’m not really into mixed media and that seems to be the main use for these, via You Tube! I have tried to use them as a colouring medium, but when I blended with water, it didn’t look great. Now I know to just use my fingers and not use water too much!

  5. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 2:44 pm

    Irene

    Hi Darlene,

    I’m wondering how these might compare to SU’s watercolor crayons? I haven’t tried these techniques with those yet — I really need to dig them out and play with them again. But I don’t have gelatos or distress markers, so wouldn’t be able to compare. I didn’t know if you might still have watercolor crayons (or if you ever had them — I can’t remember and haven’t done a search for them yet as I write this).

    Thanks!

    • wrote on September 28th, 2016 at 10:20 am

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Irene. Sorry, I’ve never used the watercolor crayons. 🙁

  6. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    Pipersmomma07

    Thanks so much Darlene!! I LOVE these techniques! I’ve had 3 packs of these just sitting here for months! Haven’t even tried to use them. Now that I’ve watched your video, I have all my stencils and embossing folders out with my distress crayons! Yay!

  7. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 5:47 pm

    Glenismaree

    Wow! I am so impressed with your comparisons. I love all three cards. As it so happens my Distress Crayons arrive home (Australia) this week with my daughter’s friend who insisted that she bring something back from the USA for me. Can’t wait now to givre this technique a go. Thanks Darlene.

  8. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 5:50 pm

    jennyjo88

    I too am not a big fan of this product. I received mine as a promo in a TH class I took at the Expo and we took a damp cloth and blended it that way and also with our fingers. The projects we made were pretty, but there are other products in my stash that do it easier and better. Thanks for sharing your results, and I will try it with the embossing paste…why let these crayons go to waste?! 😉

  9. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    Carol Mac

    Yup…nope, I won’t be buying these. I am so glad you did a review as YouTube videos are too short and don’t make any negative comments about the product (they are of course promoting it). I would like to know how sore your hand was after blending them with your fingers. Seems like too much work so I will stay with my distress inks and an sponge applicator. Thanks for taking the time to show us! ?

    • wrote on September 28th, 2016 at 10:35 am

      Darlene DeVries

      Actually, it wasn’t bad at all – the crayons are really smooth, so the finger blending is easier than with the gelatos. It is, however, more work than just ink blending.

  10. wrote on September 27th, 2016 at 11:44 pm

    Cheryl

    This video was so helpful for me as I’ve been contemplating buying these crayons. I think I’ll give them a try. Thx Darlene!

  11. wrote on September 28th, 2016 at 1:16 pm

    dvcote

    I wish I had seen this before I bought the sets. lol I have a load of Gelatos and really like them.

  12. wrote on October 4th, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    blondie37

    Nice and bright results but SURPRISE I don’t feel tempted to purchase these.
    Thanks for your honest comments and demonstration Cheers ..

Add a comment

News/Announcements

January 9, 2019 - It's Sale-a-Bration (free products!) and the Stampin' Up! Occasions catalog is now available for ordering! View the Occasions Catalog, the Annual Catalog, and the SAB catalog. 25% of every order goes to Foster Kids Charity! Shop HERE.
See more news...

Email Signup!

Receive an email when new content is added!

My Favorite Stores

Stampin’ Up!


View Catalog
Copic Certified

Archives

Help Support the Community

Support the Community!

Make a difference.