About     Contact     Help     

Peerless Watercolor Review and Tutorial

Peerless Watercolors

Hi All!

As promised, I recorded a video on the Peerless watercolors. At first I wasn’t going to buy them. I was so happy with watercoloring using my Inktense pencils that I didn’t think anything could be better. Well, I am soooo glad I got these. I absolutely love them. I purchased both the Basic pack and the Bonus pack.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I still love the Inktense pencils and will not be giving those up anytime soon. But, I love how these watercolors are so easy to apply and blend. I will say that you have to be careful about using more water to dilute the colors, which can be extremely concentrated. But, the watercolor is so smooth – you really have to try them out to appreciate how awesome they are.

In this video, I talk a little bit about what the watercolors are, then I show you how to use them. I also show how I created the storage for them with just a simple booklet from Staples, some cardstock, and Tombow glue.

And because it’s Wednesday, I also have a card post using these watercolors. Check it out HERE if you haven’t already.

Enjoy and have a great week!

signature

Supplies:

To purchase at Ellen Hutson, click the EH link. To purchase at Simon Says Stamp, click the SSS link.

Peerless Watercolor Basic
Peerless Watercolor Basic
Peerless Watercolor Bonus
Peerless Watercolor Bonus
Stampin' Up!Aqua Painter
Aqua Painter
Ranger Broad Water Brush
Ranger Broad Water Brush
EH|SSS
Strathmore Watercolor Paper
Watercolor Paper
Neenah Solar White Cardstock
Neenah Cardstock
EH|SSS
Tombow Mono Multi Glue
Tombo Mono Multi Glue
EH|SSS

Comments

  1. wrote on June 11th, 2014 at 8:46 am

    Betty

    thanks for the great tutorial – i just rec’d my peerless and organized them like Jennifer McGuire – almost wish i had seen your idea first, but it’s done. like the idea of using the aqua brush – played a bit last nite – think i was using too much water – love the way they blend.

  2. wrote on June 11th, 2014 at 9:13 am

    Richell

    Okay, where have I been? I had seen this in passing but I thought it was watercolor paper like colored cardstock. Hello?! This is amazing. Thank you so much for the tutorial and the storage ideas!

  3. wrote on June 11th, 2014 at 9:39 am

    Carrie Davenport

    thanks for the tutorial! i fell in love with these when i saw Jennifer McGuire post a watercolor comparison video. great tips on storage. thanks Darlene!!

  4. wrote on June 11th, 2014 at 10:50 am

    Robin in WA

    Those blend soooo beautifully!!! I have tried several different types of watercolor and those look like the most no-brainer for blending! Amazing!! Thank you for the tutorial Darlene!!

  5. wrote on June 11th, 2014 at 12:37 pm

    Susan W

    Very cool….and love your organizational system, too!

  6. wrote on June 11th, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    Poornima

    Hi Darlene, could u explain or do a video on Peerless watercolors vs. Derwent Inktense and talk about similarities and differences. Thanks.

  7. wrote on June 11th, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    Renee V.

    Love your storage system and I thank you so much for the in depth review! It only makes me want them more!!! 😉

  8. wrote on June 11th, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Kimberly E

    So happy that I waited for your review and organization tip before I did mine! Your idea is great!!! I will be using your storage idea. I love your cards and all your tips and tricks that you share. Thanks Darlene!!

  9. wrote on June 12th, 2014 at 4:07 am

    Kim S.

    Brilliant. Just brilliant. Thank you.

  10. wrote on June 12th, 2014 at 6:23 am

    Maria Rodriguez

    I remember you mentioned this water colors before and I’m so happy you made a tutorial about them. I love water coloring my images, I use other mediums but water color is my favorite. Thank you for the tips on organizing and storing this water colors, what a fantastic idea!
    Now, let me go and watch the video on how you colored that cute little kitty.

  11. wrote on June 19th, 2014 at 9:03 am

    Sharon Roselli

    Thank you for this review! I have had these for a while but not used them cause they are in drawer and not knowing what the color is until you wet it. you storage ideas are awesome will be coping you.

  12. wrote on June 22nd, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    LesLee Stone-Rasmus

    Hello, Thanks so much for sharing. I bought these about 15 years ago and they have sat in my room every since. I tried a couple of times with no luck. I copied your system now they are one of my faves. I have a suggestion for your storage…. To get more room in your pallet booklet cut the plastic sleeve by slicing it down the side and along the bottom to open it up….. therefor doubling your storage. I did it. It works wonderfully! Thanks again for sharing!

    • wrote on June 22nd, 2014 at 11:58 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Great idea Leslee!! Thank you. 🙂

  13. wrote on July 7th, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    Val

    I just bought the bonus pack. It would be great if you scanned your organized pages/colors to be used as a reference for the watercolors and names. Thanks for taking the time to do your tutorial – it influenced my purchase decision. Thank you!

  14. wrote on July 9th, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    Lisa (ThePurplePlace)

    I totally LOVE the Peerless Watercolors and have had mine for about 4-5 years now. At the time I bought them, pretty much the only place to buy them was from Peerless directly and I was very pleased with their service and shipping. I was blown away at how amazing and unique they are and recently had them out to use for an online Water-coloring Class, and they still has as much pigment and gorgeous color as the day I bought them…they are very cool and I love that the company has been around for years!!

    I’ve since added the bonus set and love the fun new colors – Thanks for sharing this great brand and cool watercolors!! I have mine still in the original pack and that’s worked fine for me, but I also love your idea!!

  15. wrote on July 23rd, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    Robin

    I been stamping and creating for the past 31 yrs. I bought a big book of these Peerless Paint cs about 15 yrs ago. I use them with my aqua paint brushes that I also bought yrs ago when I bought my Peerless paint book. I wrote the name on the back of each color and binded it all together with my Rollabind (before the cinch or the other machine came out) The name of the colors came with a cover and so, I used permanent marker to write with. The name of the color is still there. Love these, they are so easy and fun to take where ever you go. 🙂

  16. wrote on July 23rd, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    Janice stone

    Such a wonderful tutorial and storage idea . Brilliant

  17. wrote on March 6th, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    Bertie

    Just watched your video for the peerless watercolors. Amazing. I hadn’t paid any attention to them. Will look for them now.

  18. wrote on January 10th, 2016 at 4:38 pm

    Jan

    Thank you for your tutorial, Darlene. I just finally put my booklet together just like you did! I paused the video so my pallet matched up. Its been a weekend to stay indoors with our weather – rain and then snow. I’m excited to get started now with Peerless watercolors! At the same time, my ATG needed refilled so your tutorial came in handy as well. I can never remember how to change it each time. I want to copy your Christmas card with the Stampin Up peaceful pines tree…so pretty.

Add a comment

  1. Altenew Blog Hop!11-11-14

News/Announcements

January 9, 2019 - It's Sale-a-Bration (free products!) and the Stampin' Up! Occasions catalog is now available for ordering! View the Occasions Catalog, the Annual Catalog, and the SAB catalog. 25% of every order goes to Foster Kids Charity! Shop HERE.
See more news...

Email Signup!

Receive an email when new content is added!

My Favorite Stores

Stampin’ Up!


View Catalog
Copic Certified

Archives

Help Support the Community

Support the Community!

Make a difference.