About     Contact     Help     

MISTI Product Review

Misti Review

Hi All!

The MISTI is all the rage right now. If you haven’t heard yet, it’s a new stamp alignment tool. It was created by Iliana over at My Sweet Petunia. I seriously was skeptical about this tool. I mean, I have a stamp-a-ma-jig. How could anything be better than that?

I denied myself this tool for awhile, but then I just caved into the peer pressure. It’s kind of difficult to get because of the demand, but I guess I just happened to get it at the right time. I created a video to let you know what I think of the MISTI and how I plan to use it.

In the end, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I really, really like this tool. You all know that I am a tiny bit detail-oriented. Well, this tool will make things perfect. It’s kind of dreamy just thinking about it, haha!

Enjoy and I will see you Wednesday.

signature

Supplies:

To purchase at Ellen Hutson, click the EH link. To purchase at Simon Says Stamp, click the SSS link.

MISTI
MISTI
MSP|SSS
Mama Elephant Basic Borders
Basic Borders
EH|SSS
SSS Sketchy Banners
SSS Sketchy Banners
Impression Obsession Stripes
Impression Obsession Stripes
EH|SSS
Drawn Hearts Background
Drawn Hearts Background
You're a Hoot
You’re a Hoot
You're a Hoot Die
You’re a Hoot Die
Altenew Vintage Roses
Altenew Vintage Roses
EH|SSS
Versafine Black Onyx Ink
Versafine Black Ink
EH|SSS
Wisteria Wonder
Wisteria Wonder Ink
Elegant Eggplant
Elegant Eggplant Ink

Comments

  1. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 10:40 am

    Crystal

    Wow! What a great product. Thanks for showing us the MISTI.

  2. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 11:55 am

    Miss Robin

    Thank you for showing us what you’ve learned so far with the Misti!! Very cool!! I agree with your statement about the customer service. I actually had ordered one right after Christmas but then had buyer’s remorse so I asked Illyana if I could cancel my order or was it too late (they had been sold out and were expecting some within weeks). I don’t check my email all day long, so when she responded, I don’t know, but when I checked just to see if she had responded later in the day, not only was there a message saying she was currently getting her car worked on and not at home, but another message telling me yes it was not too late to cancel my order. So I sent her an email telling her about my remorse and she went ahead and cancelled my order. Fantastic customer service.

  3. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    Miss Robin

    Love that you can get an image lined up on a die cut. Good thinking!!

  4. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 12:10 pm

    Polka Dot Rosie

    I can’t decide about this one. I think it’s a great idea and would be very useful, but the price tag is too high for me. I’m hoping that she offers a coupon soon.

    • wrote on March 10th, 2015 at 8:41 am

      tesoro72@aol.com

      I feel the same. It seems like a “cheat” and kind of takes the fun out of stamping to me. I KNOW it is useful, but the price tag is too high. Maybe a mini Misti would be cute!?

  5. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 12:22 pm

    Lori

    I just got one last week, and so far I love it. Please keep using it in your videos so I can get more ideas on tips and tricks. Thanks!

  6. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 12:52 pm

    Barbara

    I love mine. I make cards for my church and do 10 or 15 of the same design at a time. I can make them all identical if I use the Misti. It’s really awesome and worth every penny for my needs. Thanks showing this tool!

  7. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 1:26 pm

    Peg C

    Yay! You have covered lots of my doubts and I really want one, I checked postage to UK a while ago, around $50 for every thing! so $100 approx…..I am heading to florida for holiday so will email and ask if she will ship to the address when I’m there…..I do hope so, looking forward to Wednesday

    • wrote on March 17th, 2015 at 1:14 pm

      Peg C

      Okay! I’ve done it! Ordered today from SSS it’s more expensive but postage is less! It ships on 22nd March! Just have to wait for it to arrive, I’m in the UK hope it’s not too long!

      Thanks very much Darlene, hubby doesn’t want to thank you though!! Lol

  8. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    swimbikerunat60

    This is a fabulous video Darlene, I truly trust your views about this product, you truly explained the use of it in perfect detail. I’ve been holding on buying it, I just love the fact that I can make a bunch of cards like for the Holidays and just stamp away with out having to mess with placing the image exactly where I want it.
    I think it’s very much worth the money and to know that the customer service is outstanding and prompt, is another positive aspect of this tool.
    I’m taking the plunge my dear, thank you for the gentle nudge, 🙂

    • wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 3:48 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Thanks Maria. I’m actually looking forward to creating my Christmas cards now that I have this tool! 🙂

  9. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 1:36 pm

    A 'Nita's Idea

    Bought my MISTI couple of months ago, and I love it! I give card classes, and it has really save me time when I have to do multiples. You said yours doesn’t squeak, mine does when I open and close. Should I check with Sweet Petunia?

    • wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 3:49 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      I’m sure she would send you a new one if it bothers you. Does it affect your use of it?

      • wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 4:08 pm

        A 'Nita's Idea

        It doesn’t affect my usage. The squeaking does get annoying especially when I’m working late into the night while everyone’s asleep.

  10. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 1:52 pm

    SandraMaria

    Thank you so much for your very detailed review of the MISTI! You pointed out a couple things I didn’t know you could use it for. I am so OCD like you are!!! hehe Sometimes you crack me up because you do some of the same silly things I do and I can’t help but giggle about it. =) I really can’t wait to get my MISTI!!

  11. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 1:53 pm

    Anne H.

    Best product review of the Misti yet – you finally got me! I wasn’t convinced I needed to have one. But… I have the same Altnew stamps, as well as several other of the same style, and love the results you get, but like you I also struggle with achieving the alignment that I like to have. It was an “ah ha” moment when I saw you work with them in the Misti!
    Question… Does the top lid (where the stamps are stuck to) “bow” downward when you push in the center? I’m wondering that if it does, won’t this be a potential problem for uneven stamping (more faded at the edges where the lid is not pushed down as far)?
    (Regardless, I still think It’s got a lot of value and will be pulling out the credit card as soon as I’m finished with this question LOL!) Thanks for the great review! Hanging out my “Gone Shopping” sign now… 😉

    • wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 3:56 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Anne. There is actually a little bit of bowing, which may be the cause of my crack (I’m interested to see if the new Misti I am receiving looks different than the one I have now). There is a small gap between the lid and the base platform next to the hinge. I would compare the bowing to what you might get when you squeeze a SU ink pad to get ink on the lid. But the stamping is not uneven at all. I suppose it’s possible that you could get uneven stamping with a lower quality/mushy stamp made of silicone and/or acrylic. But you get that without the Misti also.

  12. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    SIMPLYCRAFTYFRENCH

    Thank you for this nice review of the Misti tool Darlene ! Great product !

  13. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 2:15 pm

    Whimsical Creations

    Thank you very much – I JUST received mine and was sooo confused about exactly how to use it; I’d seen several people post videos using it but I never saw them use the black mat; always looked like they were stamping on top of grid paper.

    I TRULY appreciate your video so much!!

    • wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 3:57 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Haha – me too! I was so confused. I finally found a video that sort of explained it but totally, then I figured it out. I guess some things may seem obvious to some people, but not me unfortunately. 🙂

  14. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 2:29 pm

    Merry

    Hi Darlene,
    I too, have been on the fence about this tool. Price tag hesitation, but after viewing this video, I went right to the Petunia webpage and took the plunge. Thanks for the detailed tutorial and can’t wait to try it out for myself!

    • wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 3:58 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      I hope you enjoy it Merry!

  15. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    JosetteT

    I just received my Misti and I love it. Great review. Another amazing use is stamping on cut-outs, like banners. Put the negative space, the part left after cutting out your banner, line up stamp with a scrap piece under the cutout. When you are happy with alignment, insert the cut tag back into the area that it was cut out of and stamp. Perfect every time. Best use for those rubber stamps that always seem to be “off a bit”. I have tried stamping and them cutting out and sometimes not perfect either, but this solves the issue every time. Love the MISTI.
    Where did you download the grid?

    • wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 4:01 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Thanks for the tip Josette! You can download the grid HERE.

  16. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    A 'Nita's Idea

    Darlene. I just checked her website FAQ’s, and it stated that with use, the squeak goes away. Hmmmm. Guess I’ll have to use it more than I have been. Wonder how long?

    • wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 5:38 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Hmmm. That’s interesting. Maybe just keep opening and closing while you watch TV. 🙂

  17. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    Carol B

    You convinced me, got mine ordered, LOL! Great video by the way.

  18. wrote on March 9th, 2015 at 6:00 pm

    Kathy Jo Camacho

    Thanks for the great video. I have a MISTI and learning new tips and tricks with it is fabulous! Thanks so much!

  19. wrote on March 10th, 2015 at 11:00 am

    Louise Fox

    Darlene, Thank you for a great video! And with it you certainly convinced me that this would be a great tool for me. I have ordered mine and am anxiously awaiting its arrival. In my ministry, I do a lot of “mass produced” cards and I can certainly see how this will be an invaluable tool for getting a “perfect every time” result. Thank you for confirming my decision to purchase! Blessings.

  20. wrote on March 10th, 2015 at 12:05 pm

    Carol B

    I downloaded the grid from MSP, tried to print on transparency, my printer will not do a good job printing on this type of medium. The printer accepted it but skewed the grids sideways and smeared the ink. In desperation, decided to try printing on Vellum Card Stock, this worked great, might not be as durable as Transparencies but will work until I can get someone to print this for me.

  21. wrote on March 10th, 2015 at 10:50 pm

    Ske1961

    I have a Misti and love it. Definitely worth the price to me. It’s cheaper from her website than the online stores I’ve seen. She does have great customer service and use tips on her website and FB.

  22. wrote on March 11th, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    Beau

    Thank you so much for doing this review you have taken my opinion from… mmm maybe I will get it, but I’m not real sure… to … I MUST have this! lol. I really does look like it will be completely worth the money so I think it will be a wonderful tool to use in my craft room.
    As far as the Alta New stamp set, can I give you a piece of advice that I saw on Alta New’s YouTube channel?

    • wrote on March 11th, 2015 at 4:55 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Of course! What is it?

      • wrote on April 7th, 2015 at 7:19 pm

        Beau

        Start with your darkest color first! It is so simple! So you know how the images get smaller and smaller but get darker and darker? Well you start with your smallest image, your darkest color and work to your lightest color, your largest image. Since Alta New put out all of their 3 or 4 step flowers, they decided to make a video that shows the easiest way to accomplish it. And since it is super hard to see through the clear stamp if it has that dark color on it, they say to use it first so by the time you are lining up the largest part, it is the lightest color and the easiest to see through. Sorry it took me so long to reply, I missed your response in my email box 🙂

  23. wrote on March 11th, 2015 at 9:16 pm

    Lee

    Thanks so much for reviewing this for us! It is definitely a bit pricey but just seeing how well it works with the altenew Vintage roses makes it worth it (I’m also having a horrible time using them and I was really disappointed). I’ll have to see if I can stretch the budget to get one of these!

  24. wrote on March 11th, 2015 at 10:18 pm

    Anna D.

    I’m sold. I probably don’t need to buy both the MISTI and a Stamp-A-Mi-Jig, right? I don’t have either but would like one to eliminate my stamping alignment woes.

    • wrote on March 11th, 2015 at 10:32 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      You’ll still need something for wood-mounted stamps, since they don’t fit inside the Misti. The Stamp-a-ma-jig is good for that.

  25. wrote on March 13th, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    sassybrown

    Hi Darlene, I just received my MISTI this week and boy am I excited! I am notorious for messing up my stamped images and got tired of wasting my cardstock and starting over. This will save me my sanity. Love your review of the product and always look forward to your videos.

  26. wrote on April 17th, 2015 at 9:33 am

    Susan M Jensen

    Just got Misti, graph-paper, glue. My hubby will yell if he knew. Its an amazing Toy hehe. Ty

    Susan M J

  27. wrote on April 17th, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    Fieldem

    I got my MISTI several months ago and I just love it. I thought it was too expensive too, but then I thought of all the cards I had messed up and had to start over on, both the supplies and my time and decided that it would probably pay for itself in a short period of time. I love your video and it gave me a couple of extra things I hadn’t thought of doing the way you did. So glad card makers share ideas and techniques.

  28. wrote on April 24th, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    JulieM

    I’ve had my MISTI for almost a month now and still haven’t used it – thanks so much for the great video, now I’m very excited about using my (also unused) Altenew flower stamps and trying various other things you’ve shown using the MISTI 🙂

  29. wrote on April 25th, 2015 at 8:19 am

    pikeandike

    Hi Darlene, I received my MISTI a few weeks ago and love it, but have a question for you. How do you keep from getting ink on your fingers when removing stamps from the top…especially 2 or 3 step photopolymer stamps? I clean them with a baby wipe, but still seem to get ink on my fingers and then when I go to line up my paper (if it moves) I get ink on my card stock! It’s very frustrating. I have been practicing with the SU lotus blossom stamp and have given up! Cling stamps are a bit better because of the thickness there is something to grab. Know what I mean? Also, I am really going through the baby wipes! Thanks, Carol

    • wrote on April 26th, 2015 at 11:19 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Carol. I see you’ve asked this question in the forum, so I just answered it THERE.

  30. wrote on April 29th, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    papergenius1

    Darlene,
    Loved your video. I have been eyeing the Misti for awhile and was glad you got one to demonstrate. You always have good advice and ideas. I love it that you can make multiple cards quickly.

  31. wrote on June 26th, 2015 at 6:22 am

    jsupport

    Warning! Darlene is an enabler! LOL –
    I can’t help but purchase so many wonderful products that you suggest Darlene: I admit, I am a paper crafting addict.

    But the MISTI is really the best!!!! I debated over the purchase price, but finally took the plunge. I bought the whole kit and caboodle from My Sweet Petunia. I LOVE IT!!!!

    Now if I could just organize my stamps, sigh.
    Thanks so much for your inspiration!
    Jackie E in Georgia

Add a comment

News/Announcements

January 9, 2019 - It's Sale-a-Bration (free products!) and the Stampin' Up! Occasions catalog is now available for ordering! View the Occasions Catalog, the Annual Catalog, and the SAB catalog. 25% of every order goes to Foster Kids Charity! Shop HERE.
See more news...

Email Signup!

Receive an email when new content is added!

My Favorite Stores

Stampin’ Up!


View Catalog
Copic Certified

Archives

Help Support the Community

Support the Community!

Make a difference.