About     Contact     Help     

Fiskars Trimmer Review

Fiskars Trimmer Review

Hi All!

This Fiskars ProCision Trimmer review is pretty short and sweet. There are longer reviews on YouTube that you can watch that address the construction and capabilities beyond card making, but I wanted to hit the key points for card makers. It retails for $120, but Amazon has it for only $70 – and prime!

I decided to purchase this particular trimmer because I read lots of good things about it, and I thought the cost was reasonable for the quality. Keep in mind that I’m only comparing this trimmer to the other lower-cost trimmers I have used over the years (which I show in the video).

I filmed it on my new craft table (yay!). It’s white and I love it.

Enjoy!

signature

Comments

  1. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 6:54 am

    Connie

    Thanks Darlene. That was very interesting. However, I guess I’ll stick with my Stamping Up Trimmer for now. It doesn’t cut one side of the paper quite as well as the other side but this only seems to be a very minor problem and I’m really quite a perfectionist. I also haven’t had any problem with my trimmer not cutting things straight. Was wondering if you’ve ever used a Stamping Up trimmer?

    • wrote on March 23rd, 2016 at 1:54 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Connie. Actually, I have not used the SU trimmer. It looks similar to the Fiskars trimmer. Does it have another brand anywhere on it?

      • wrote on March 23rd, 2016 at 4:44 pm

        Connie

        Hi Darlene! I looked on my Stampin Up trimmer and underneath it says Stanpin Up Patent Pending. I think Stampin Up used to stock Fiskar trimmers before they designed their own which must be similar but slightly different. I’ve had mine since it first came out and like it a lot. I don’t even need to change the blades very often to get a good cut.

  2. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 7:00 am

    Connie

    Hi again! I just checked on Google and most places do not stock this trimmer in Australia. But for those in Australia who are interested, you can buy one right now for A$159 with free shipping through Fishpond.com.au I’ll just stick to my Stamping Up trimmer but this might be helpful for some other people in Oz who want this one..

    • wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 7:35 am

      Darlene DeVries

      Simons Says Stamp carries it. Scrapbook.com has it on sale for $101, but I’m not sure about the shipping costs to Australia. Some local stores carry it as well – you can check with Fiskars web site.

  3. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 8:05 am

    Connie

    Thanks Darlene, But US$101 is currently AU$132 and postage here would be a lot of money because of its weight. So the AU&159 at Fishpond.com.au is probably a very good price to get it all the way to Oz. Good I’m not in the market for one but others might be for sure!?

  4. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 10:16 am

    golightly23

    Thanks Darlene for the thorough review. I am looking for a trimmer to replace my tonic and am seriously considering this one. I love that you pointed out its shortcomings too 🙂 It was very helpful.

  5. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 1:16 pm

    lovinpaper

    Thanks for the review. I will stick with my Fiskars Sure Cut with the wire. Fiskars is great with the warranty, so if it breaks, I will contact them and let them take care of it. I have had a punch replaced by them when it arrived with a broken handle.

  6. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 2:14 pm

    Lesley S

    Have a nice portable Tonic trimmer, but the base is grey and it’s very hard to see the markings in lower light conditions, although it does cut well. Bought the Stampin Up trimmer, and absolutely love the stability of the base, and the cutting marks, but I don’t get a nice crisp cut, and the scoring blade is almost useless. Have a largest portable Fiskars, and it has become my everyday workhorse. Light colour base, easy to read markings, cuts up to 1 1/2″ on the right side of the blade, etc. But….I’m really curious about the new Tim Holtz Tonic Guillotine Trimmer….has anyone else used it much? I’ve never used a guillotine type trimmer.

    • wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 2:53 pm

      June Hickman

      I have that Tim Holtz guillotine trimmer and I love it! I also have the cutterpillar 2.0, I like that it has a self sharpening blade but I’m not crazy about the trimmer itself. I wish I had returned it before my time was up so I could a got my money back. I also have a Stampin’ Up! trimmer, I absolutely detest that trimmer! Every time I use it it not only doesn’t cut straight it tears my paper up horribly. I’m going to get rid of it as fast as I can. I also have a fiskars trimmer I’m not sure what it’s name is but it has a rotary blade but it is built more like Darlene’s. Between all of those trimmers I use the one like Darlenes and my Tim Holtz trimmer the most. I went through so many different tremors before I finally found the Fiskar’s one and I’ve had that trimmer for 3 years. I use the Tim Holtz one when I have to use it in a small place the Fiskars one stays on my work table. Sorry for the lengthy post I hope it helps!

  7. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    TAMarshall

    I LOVE my ProCision Trimmer, but I also have the SU Trimmer that I use frequently.

    One of my solutions to getting “thinner” cuts is to start with a wider/longer piece of paper. Say I have a piece that is 3″ x 4″ and I need a strip that is 1/4″ x 4″. I will place the left side of the paper at 2 3/4″ and cut. (hope that makes sense).

    • wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 4:54 pm

      SylTash

      Yep! That’s what I do too. No problem at all there. I tried so many trimmers over the years, even paid well over $100+ for what I thought was a professional cutter (from an office supplies store) and couldn’t believe it when I found out too late, that *I* wasn’t the problem, but the cutter matt was actually crooked. Enough said about my woes…but now I have what I think is the perfect trimmer: this Fiskers-trimmer IS the best one I’ve ever owned. (I keep one of their smaller ones for when I go out to stamp, etc.)

  8. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    Woody

    After your mentioning in one of your videos that you had this new trimmer, and trusting and valueing your opinions, I researched and bought one on Amazon. I really like it, especially how clean the cuts are. Have been hoping you would do your “take” on it. Thanks for that and for the info on cutting small strips. Also really like your new craft table top.

  9. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 3:38 pm

    bbmustain

    I bought this trimmer about 2 years ago and knew you would love it 😉 I also use my Stampin Up trimmer for smaller cuts, (really love the newest model). It took a little while but I did get in the habit of going all the way to the end both ways that solved lifting the guard in between. I think I paid $79 with prime at Amazon and I am so pleased with the quality, well worth even more.
    Thanks for sharing your opinion!

  10. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 3:56 pm

    kardz

    I use a RotatrimM12 and have the same trouble cutting a thin piece of paper. I also use a longer piece of paper and just move the paper a quarter of an inch and then cut the quarter of an inch sticking out past the blade. This works every time, which is a good thing, because my “eyeballing” talents leave a lot to be desired. I purchased at least 8 different trimmers until it occurred to me that it would have been cheaper the long run to spend a little more on a really good piece of equipment.
    Carol Tiep

  11. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 4:50 pm

    Tammy

    I bet you I have bought 20 timmers in 8 yrs that I have been doing card making and so far this is the one I love the best. I do agree it is a little tedious with small cuts but I can handle that with my other Fiskars or SU trimmer. I will not go to any other trimmer and I think we all need to contract Fiskars about the middle of the ruler not being there because I am sure they could adjust and put the markings on the frame some way when it’s opened flat. Thanks Darlene.

  12. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 5:32 pm

    Becka

    Thank you for your review. I didn’t even know the trimmer existed – which is one of the reasons I enjoy your web site so much.
    Sorry to hear the lady’s tale of the horrible Stampin Up trimmer. Mine has always worked nicely. Maybe Stampin Up will replace it for her.

  13. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 5:38 pm

    Jan Castle

    I have a caterpillar and love that it has a light, the ruler easy to read, and the grid is so small but easy to see to line things up. The rotary blade (which slides on a bar) is self sharpening. There is no plastic piece to hold your paper in place – so, I use a triangle braced at the top ruler edge to hold things in place…works well. My only complaint is that the top ruler seems to move a hair over time and I have to get out my rubber mallet and hammer it back in place….sound bazaar but not that difficult to do so my paper can be lined up at the top. Easy to cut 1/8″ strips by measuring from the left side (as the metal on right does not show the last 3/4″). All is all, I am very happy with it. I won’t take the time to mention all the other cutters I still have or have had – LOL!

  14. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 5:39 pm

    Jan Castle

    OOPS…that a CUTTERPILLAR!

  15. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    KimmieD

    Thank you Darlene! I also have several trimmers, and I tend to know which one works best under which circumstance, and use them all accordingly. It would be nice to have just ONE that could do it all.

    I am still searching for one that will cut the edge of a card, when the card itself is very bulky. Usually I find I can’t manipulate the card under the safety cover due to the thickness of my layers or embellishments.

  16. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 8:23 pm

    Natgodfrey

    I have this trimmer and I love it. I had another paper cutter and I could never get a straight cut. I want to say the ruler on the top did not line up with the ruler in the center. And I do have a smaller paper trimmer to handle the smaller jobs.

  17. wrote on March 21st, 2016 at 9:36 pm

    Becky

    Thanks, Darlene. I bought this same trimmer a few months ago as well, and I would just reply “ditto” to everything you said in the video. I love it. Straight and crisp every.single.time. The positives outweigh the negatives by a long shot. My Stampin’ Up trimmer is my second favorite, and I use it for the little cuts you mentioned and as my take-along when I travel (I store it in a neoprene laptop sleeve to protect it from getting damaged). Thanks again for another helpful video!

  18. wrote on March 22nd, 2016 at 8:30 am

    swimbikerunat60

    Great video review Darlene, thank you for taking the time to inform us about this products.
    I have a question…..Have you ever used a guillotine type paper trimmer? I saw a review video about the Tim Holtz Tonic guillotine trimmer and I’m really interested in this product. Looks small enough and the price is fair.
    Thanks again for all the information.

    Maria.

    • wrote on March 22nd, 2016 at 5:33 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Hi Maria. Actually, I used a commercial-type guillotine at work a long time ago, but nothing at home. Lots of people here have mentioned that trimmer and how much they like it.

      • wrote on March 22nd, 2016 at 6:31 pm

        swimbikerunat60

        Thank you for replying Darlene, there are so many products out there that it’s so hard to choose. The information you give us is priceless my dear, it helps a lot when it comes to choosing the right product for our individual needs.
        Thanks so much.

        Maria.

  19. wrote on March 24th, 2016 at 9:52 am

    dvcote

    I was having such difficulty getting a straight cut and eventually blamed it on my astigmatism! lol, but then Amazon had Wescott trimmers for $5. yep! So I got three, because I go through trimmers like buttah. I get very good results with this. I was looking at the one you Demo’d and thanks for saving me a lot of money! I do a lot of tiny cuts, so that trimmer will stay in the store.

  20. wrote on March 26th, 2016 at 1:09 pm

    Sharon Farrah

    Thanks for the trimmer tutorial. Over the years I have tried a lot of trimmers and never found a favourite until I bought the Stampin Up trimmer. I love it! Although, I do admit that you have to press hard for some score lines depending on the paper.

  21. wrote on April 1st, 2016 at 4:12 am

    Glenismaree

    Thanks Darlene for the trimmer tutorial. I enjoyed it. Like everyone else I have had several trimmers over the years and I just love my Cutterpillar. It will cut the tiniest amount off the edge of a card or paper. I too love the light and the self-sharpening blade. The only disadvantage could be for some of you is that it is large and quite heavy but I am fortunate enough to have a permanent space alongside my Big Shot. I recently bought a SU Trimmer and I don’t like it one bit. It tears 250gsm (not sure of the conversion to lb.) card that I use for my card base. I am very disappointed with it. I will probably use it to score my card bases.

  22. wrote on April 13th, 2016 at 5:06 pm

    SandraMaria

    I concur with your complaints about this trimmer. Also, one thing you may not realize (yet) is that the mark on the other side of that ‘fold’…is NOT exactly at 6 inches. It’s actually at 6 1/16. So you have to eyeball the invisible 6 inch mark before cutting. I don’t know why Fiskars couldn’t make that bend work out, it doens’t seem like it would have been that difficult.

    Recently, I bought a Creative Memories personal trimmer (aka photo trimmer) for my work area. This big trimmer is on a workbench some feet away from my craft workspace and sorta inconvenient to get up and do a quick little cut. While house hunting, I will be scoping out the perfect craftroom, too! HAHA I don’t care about the rest of the house….it’s only the craftroom that matters!! ROTFLOL!! (Just kidding of course, but I gotta have some fun during this stressful process.) Our realtor just called, looks like more strangers will be walking through my house in a couple hours. Oh yay. =/

    Speaking of craftrooms…are you not doing member craftroom tours and interviews anymore? I really enjoyed those posts. =)

    Thanks for the review Darlene. You should post the video on Youtube and link it to a written review on Amazon. Those are really helpful when shopping. At least they are to me. Amazon reviews are a huge part of my shopping process for deciding to take a chance on a brand new product without seeing it in person. Just sayin…

    • wrote on April 15th, 2016 at 6:05 pm

      Darlene DeVries

      Glad you got your priorities right regarding the craft room! I hope you sell your house quickly – keeping it clean for showings is such a pain. I did a 3-month special program about the craft rooms. Maybe I should do more?

      • wrote on April 17th, 2016 at 11:59 pm

        SandraMaria

        YES DO MORE!!! LOL

        As of today, we have 3 offers on our house…one is cash for more than we’re asking…tmw we are redoing the financing for our loan and already found a new house to move into. IT HAS A HUGE LOFT…I’m thinking HUGE CRAFT ROOM!!! :b It’s a big maybe though…because umm…I’m SERIOUSLY afraid of heights!! LOLOL!!!!

        SO SO SO bummed I missed the live chat…I hope there will be more in the future!!! We got our cat home today from the vet, he had to have an infected fang pulled and then he pee’d all overhimself right before leaving the vet and they tried to clean him up but he was being impossible…so I had to get him home, get him calmed down so I could wash him down and he was not happy about it…this is our ‘problem child’ cat…so he’s not easy to please sometimes. He’s just not handling the house selling stress very well on top of the tooth issue. =( Sorry I kinda rambled on. It’s been a CRAZY weekend. >.<

        Man, I'm bummed I miss the live chat!!!

  23. wrote on July 30th, 2017 at 6:46 pm

    Lizzie

    All of the issues you have with this trimmer are the same ones I have. I bought this trimmer about a 13-16 months ago and I do love it, but that problem with the plastic panel when cutting your paper has become really annoying to me. I’l never get used to going all the way down on a cut, I automatically stop at the end. Perhaps in heaven there will be a perfect paper trimmer. I use the SU trimmer for my cuts at the desk. I have a problem with that one also. It has a scoring blade, but everytime I line it up oh so perfectly to score it scores crooked, no matter what I do. Oh well crafting can be stressful sometimes, but always fun.

  24. wrote on November 4th, 2017 at 2:48 pm

    Lee

    Hi Darlene, I wanted to check in with you to see if you still really like this trimmer? I’m about ready to give in and buy another one and wondered how you felt about this one over a year later?

    Thanks!

    • wrote on November 5th, 2017 at 6:16 pm

      darlene

      Hi Lee. Yes, I still love it! I use it every day. Still cuts perfectly. 🙂

      • wrote on November 7th, 2017 at 8:18 am

        Lee

        Thanks so much for responding. This has just moved to the top of my wish list…

Add a comment

  1. New Craft Room Tour!06-07-16

News/Announcements

January 9, 2019 - It's Sale-a-Bration (free products!) and the Stampin' Up! Occasions catalog is now available for ordering! View the Occasions Catalog, the Annual Catalog, and the SAB catalog. 25% of every order goes to Foster Kids Charity! Shop HERE.
See more news...

Email Signup!

Receive an email when new content is added!

My Favorite Stores

Stampin’ Up!


View Catalog
Copic Certified

Archives

Help Support the Community

Support the Community!

Make a difference.